Review: Blood Lite, editor: Kevin Anderson

Book blurb
The Horror Writers Association Presents BLOOD LITE
…a collection of entertaining tales that puts the fun back into dark fiction, with ironic twists and tongue-in-cheek wit to temper the jagged edge.

Charlaine Harris reveals the dark side of going green, when a quartet of die-hard environmentalists hosts a fundraiser with a gory twist in “An Evening with Al Gore”…In an all-new Dresden Files story from Jim Butcher, when it comes to tracking deadly paranormal doings, there’s no such thing as a “Day Off” for the Chicago P.D.’s wizard detective, Harry Dresden…Sherrilyn Kenyon turns a cubicle-dwelling MBA with no life into a demon-fighting seraph with one hell of an afterlife in “Where Angels Fear to Tread”…Celebrity necromancer Jaime Vegas is headlining a sold-out séance tour, but behind the scenes, a disgruntled ghost has a bone to pick, in Kelley Armstrong’s “The Ungrateful Dead.” Plus tales guaranteed to get under your skin — in a good way — from Janet Berliner, Don D’Ammassa, Nancy Holder, Nancy Kilpatrick, J. A. Konrath and F. Paul Wilson, Joe R. Lansdale, Will Ludwigsen, Sharyn McCrumb, Mark Onspaugh, Mike Resnick, Steven Savile, D. L. Snell, Eric James Stone, Jeff Strand, Lucien Soulban, Matt Venne, Christopher Welch.

So let the blood flow and laughter reign — because when it comes to facing our deepest, darkest fears, a little humor goes a long way!

Review
I admit that I prefer to read a full novel to reading short stories, but sometime life is so busy that too many interruptions can cause you to lose the thread of the story you’re trying to follow. When I know things are going to be busy, and because I go through massive withdrawal if I am not reading something, I like to pick up a book of novellas or a collection of short stories. I know I may not like all of them, but if I’ve chosen well most of the stories will help me keep me from going cold turkey even when life is getting me down.

And Blood Lite certainly fits the bill. Sure there were a few stories that didn’t give me the chuckle that the Horror Writers Association promised, but overall I left happy with the results.

It started out well. Kelley Armstrong’s Ungrateful Dead left me laughing out loud at our heroine’s solution to the situation she’d found herself in. After all, a ghost may think you work for them but that doesn’t mean they can take advantage. They don’t really have a leg (or a body) to stand on…

Matt Venne’s story about the tribulations of poor Elvis Presley had me feeling for the man as he suffered through the bloodsucker blues.

I loved how Charlaine Harris’ An Evening with Al Gore kept me guessing, and satisfied with its environmentally sound conclusion.

And who hasn’t wanted to write a letter like the ones Steven Saville gives us in Dear Prudence?

Sharyn McCrumb’s Dead Hand shows that sometimes getting the chance of a lifetime, even when you’re dead, holds many more catches than you want to deal with.

And I’ve had many days off that didn’t turn out like I wanted them too, but Jim Butcher’s Day Off… worse than any I’ve had.

All in all, this is a fun collection of tales that you can revisit again and again.

Rating:
RatingRatingRatingRating

Leave a Reply

