Interesting headstone on Tremont Street, Boston

There are many famous folk buried in this cemetery in downtown Boston, incluidng Paul Revere, Samuel Adams and Mother Goose. However, it was this one headstone that truly caught my eye. I have been unable to find out anything about the deceased so if anyone knows the story behind it, I’d love to hear it.
The inscription reads:

Farervell Vain World I have Enough of the
And now I’m Careles what thou Sayst of me
What Fault thou Seest in me
Take Care to Shun
Theres worke within thy Self
That Should be Done
Thy Smiles I Court not nor thy Frowns I fear
My Care are past my head lies quiet here

Edward Carter died
Nov 11 1742 aged 45

Edward Carter

Talk about a great exiting speech….

Leave a Reply

